Week 10 option 1

The TED Talk really made me think about the way introverts are thought of in society. I think that the introverts are wrongly viewed in society for the most part. I never assumed I was an introvert until learning what the words introvert and extrovert actually mean. The idea of being categorized as an introvert can be undesirable to some since society mainly focuses on bringing a negative light to being introverted. Extroverts are typically thought to be outgoing and social while introverts are thought to be shy and quiet. Much of society is deemed fit for extroverts to thrive but I think that introverts should be given more credit considering how much introverts contribute to society in creative and impactful ways. I think that in some ways extroverts are thought to be valued more in society since they can be better suited for jobs that are thought to be valuable and intensive. I think that since I am an introvert myself I don’t quite understand what it means to be an extrovert and while I do see some of the appeal in it, I definitely prefer at times to just sit in a room and read a book instead of going to a large social gathering. Being an introvert does’t mean you are not creative or social it is simply a different way of going about it.  I often do find myself terrified to work with others  at times because to me group work is so unpredictable and often more stressful than just doing the assignment on your own and having complete control over content. When i am in that position i find myself often either trying to take complete create control of just letting other ideas overshadow my own depending on who the other people in the group and their style of collaborating. I do think that Austin College is better fit for extroverts since professors do encourage students to really put themselves out there and engage in activities with others but I do think that the college does work to encourage independent thinking and that it offers opportunities for introverts to thrive.

2 thoughts on “Week 10 option 1

  1. Your post was very thought provoking for me. I have long thought of myself as the societal definition of an introvert, however I now think otherwise. While I do enjoy going out to a party, or being around people, I find much greater joy from being at home or in a small gathering with close friends. I believe that if more people knew the actual definitions of these words that the stigma associated with being an introvert would be drastically different. I also agree that Austin College doesn’t do a fabulous job at suiting introverts. I think that this campus is very centered around involvement and community with often times makes it hard to fit in if you aren’t always interested in being out and about. I think class wise though that most of my class try to limit the amount of work that we do in groups which does help cater to both introverts and extroverts.

    Like

Leave a comment